IEEE.orgIEEE Xplore Digital LibraryIEEE StandardsIEEE SpectrumMore Sites
IEEE logo

Neil Smith Award

IEEE Neil Smith Award for Contributions to the Understanding of Magnetic Phenomena in Materials and Devices

The Neil Smith Award will be presented at Intermag this year for the best student contribution to the understanding of magnetic phenomena in Materials and Devices. The IEEE award is in memory of Neil Smith, whose productive industrial research career exemplified a mastery of experimental measurement techniques and theoretical analysis. An award committee will select winners in two subject categories: magnetic data storage & emerging memory/compute. The two winners will each receive a $1,000 cash prize. The winning submissions need to be original contributions that contain an advance in the understanding of a technologically relevant physical system or phenomena. The selection criteria will be based on originality and impact of the material, as well as quality of the oral or poster presentation.

Congratulations to the INTERMAG 2024 Finalists!

AB-02: Spin-reorientation driven emergent phases, unconventional magnetotransport and magnetic anisotropy in a quasi-2D ferromagnet Fe4GeTe2
Riju Pal
S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research, Institute for Solid State and Materials Physics, TU Dresden

AD-04: Electrically controlled all-antiferromagnetic tunnel junctions on silicon
Sevdenur Arpaci
Northwestern University

AC-08: Symmetry engineering induced out-of-plane spin-orbit fields in WSe2 and NbIrTe4
Wei Yang
Beihang University

BD-02: Optical control of the magnetization emerging from the magnetic part of the optical field in the Landau-Lifshitz-Gilbert equation
Benjamin Assouline
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

CC-07: Brownian reservoir computing approach for Gesture recognition by using geometrically confined skyrmion dynamics
Grischa Beneke
Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

Candidate Eligibility Criteria
  • Undergraduate or Graduate Student.
  • Lead contributor and presenter of primarily their own work on a contributed oral or poster presentation.
  • Past winners of the award are eligible only if the new work has substantial differentiation from the prior winning submission.
Required Submission Materials
  1. Expected graduation date, IEEE member number, advisor name, advisor IEEE member number
  2. One-page description of the motivation for the research, the significance of the research results, the applicant's contribution to the work being presented, and the connections to the themes of the award.
  3. Signed letter of support for the student from a research advisor, who must be a member of the IEEE Magnetics Society. This letter must include the advisor’s signature.

Please indicate desire to be considered for the award at time of digest submission. The deadline for award applications is January 14, 2024. Incomplete applications will not be considered..

For additional questions, please contact the Neil Smith Award Chair, Michael Grobis, at